Back in January as I was preparing to make brownies for a church circle gathering, I could not find my “nice” name
engraved brownie pan but instead ran across my old, rusted, and rather pathetic looking brownie pan that was
originally purchased when I was in college.  The poor thing had seen better days.  As I pulled it out of my cabinets and
thought I would just throw it away or donate it to a local thrift store, I stopped.  I put the pan on top of my dryer and let it sit. 
I felt sure I could make something anew out of this old pan.  I thought of making it a clock or something else along those
lines when I ran across something on Pinterest which in turn gave me an idea.  A pin from the fun home, design and
lifestyle blog, Madigan Made, showed using metal stove burner covers (cookie sheets or pizza pans) from the dollar
store to create your very own custom magnet board.  (Click HERE for the original blog posting that I viewed on Pinterest. 
Also, be sure to check out Madigan Made’s other posts – it is full of great ideas for your home!)

Seeing this post made my wheels start to turn!  I now knew what to do with my discarded brownie pan and this would
be way simpler in terms of time and tools than a clock project would be.  I simplified my version and instead of using
decorative paper went for a solid color.  I used spray paint and grosgrain ribbon and ta-dah have a great bright new
magnet board from something that was headed for the trash!

 I made this magnet board for my sister’s birthday and she was really pleased!  Just think of all the design possibilities
that you can create with this project………it’s quick, simple, super inexpensive, and turns out a great finished product!

 Below are pictures of the board I made for my sister's birthday.  Enjoy!
Picture
Step 1: Find an old pan or something metal that will work to make a magnet board.
Picture
Step 2: Pick spray paint color of your choice and get to painting. Let dry.
Picture
Step 4: Add fun magnets to your finished magnet board. My sister with her new present!
Like the magnets you see?  I made the yellow bunny rabbit magnet (click HERE to go to my Etsy shop .... more rabbits are on the way in the next few weeks).  The other magnet I bought from the Etsy Shop Not Made In China.  Click HERE to visit. 
Be sure and check out this shop – it is full of great, funny, and oh-so clever gifts that hi-light living in the Southeast and all with a great sense of humor!

Has this post inspired you? Leave a comment or post pictures of your own projects.  I want to see what you’ve created, too!  


7/17/2012 02:35:08 am

It really is truly a good and helpful piece of information. I�m satisfied which you shared this helpful data with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

Reply
4/1/2013 03:46:55 pm

Some really fantastic info , Sword lily I found this. "Underpromise overdeliver." by Tom Peters.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Picture
    Photo Credit Jennifer Gaida

    Elizabeth Bagwell

    A native of Spartanburg, SC, Elizabeth has been creating from the moment she could grasp a pair of safety scissors in her hands.  A graduate of Presbyterian College with a degree in history and minor in art administration Elizabeth has been crafting since the age of 3.  She has a passion for design, calligraphy, fine stationary, 20th century social history, Alfred Hitchcock, ballet flats, Nancy Drew, layers of pearls, Shiny Brite Christmas ornaments, and bacon.  Her recent obsessions includes simple silhouettes in bold colors incorporating upcycled materials.   

    Archives

    June 2012
    March 2012
    January 2012

    Categories

    All
    Art; Exhibits